It’s a matter of our understanding

At the moment I’m listening to the bible in 90 days. I’ve tried to do this plan a couple of times before but haven’t made it quite to. The end but I’m trying my best to be diligent. I do miss days but I catch up. I’m about to go into the Psalms now. Which means that I just finished reading Job. 

Before I share my thoughts. I want to encourage you to think about the numerous times you may have been totally convinced that you understood what was being asked of you. You nod and say yes or whatever the situation requires of you only to find out that there has been a grave misunderstanding. 

My most recent incident like this was just yesterday. I thought I was asked to send a text to someone on a friends phone but actually I was being asked to read a text. Luckily we cleared up the confusion before I did any damage and incurred any charges as the person I needed to text was over seas -_-. God is good. 

Anyway, this is what I think I see in Job. For Job’s friends what they understood that hardship in life is always a result of sin in your life. Which actually wasn’t the case. And for Job his understanding was that his hardship was because the hand of God was against him. Again, this wasn’t the case. 

God saw Job as a man of character. He said if anyone is faithful to me Job is. Ok satan do your worst. God chose Job to go through this trail because he trusted Job to weather the storm. It was tough. But he made it.

His friends were trying to be supportive. Their hearts were in the right place but they lacked understanding. I guess we can’t really blame them  because they didn’t know that they didn’t truly understand God’s nature and character. This is hard because I love to talk – but I try not to say too much when I don’t really undertand. But, just like Job’s friends there have been times that when I  got this drastically wrong. I thought I knew it all. Praise God for his grace that covers all sin. 

God’s hand was not against Job because of sin. In fact, God’s hand wasn’t against Job at all. It was the enemy. And I believe that this is where Job misunderstood. His understanding was, “God has forsaken me, he’s mad at me even though I am innocent.” When really God’s hand was protecting Job from death. God was proud of Job not angry or disappointed . Although this changed  and changed again towards the end of  book. 

When Job was challenged by God he realised that he had seen his situation in the wrong light.He said, 

“You asked, ‘Who is this that questions my wisdom with such ignorance?’ It is I—and I was talking about things I knew nothing about, things far too wonderful for me.

I had only heard about you before, but now I have seen you with my own eyes. I take back everything I said, and I sit in dust and ashes to show my repentance.””

‭‭Job‬ ‭42:3, 5-6‬ ‭NLT‬‬

http://bible.com/116/job.42.3,5-6.nlt

 Have we misunderstood our own encounters with God? Or have we looked at our friends and thought “wow you must really have done something bad to experience this”? 

Let us ask God for his revelation if the situation we are in or that of our friends. Let us repent for not seeing things as he sees them. And let us move on with full understanding rather than wallowing in condemnation. 

God is a God  of love and grace. Let take on his perspective and faithfully run this race.
 

Leave a Reply

