Location Two: Children’s Home.

This location require two posts, one for ministry and one about my personal revelations and encounters with God.

Arrival:

When we first arrived. We were all so surprised we went from squatties to sit downs. From sleeping on the floor to having beds. We thought that we were in heaven – or at least we’d found a small piece of heaven on earth and an imported America across the small expanse of green space separating our living quarters from that of our hosts.

Ministry:

In this location, our ministry opportunities well spaced.  We spent a lot of time in the compound helping the couple who hosted our team. As I mentioned in a previous post, in Kenya Children’s Home have holidays and the children who stay there go back to relatives to spend Christmas with them so we were staying where the children would sleep.

The couple started a Children’s church 2 months before we arrived so we did some children’s services and included them in our Christmas “production”.

We painted and sorted for about a week. We also continued to hone our skills in Children’s ministry and planned an lead a Vacation Bible School (VBS). Here we went out and gathered children lead by children as they knew the local area and this in itself was an adventure. In this time I remember meeting a young teenage boy who was just venturing out after “coming of age” he was a quiet lad who only spoke when he was spoken to and I pray that he encountered God from what we did.

Although the children at the VBS seemed to enjoy themselves, it was hard for us to know how much they understood of the message of grace and personal friendship with Jesus we shared with them through song, small dramas and craft activities.

In hindsight, I know that it’s not feedback that I need, but an understanding that my words and the words of my team members are powerful. They have the ability to change lives – we were faithful to the message of the gospel and God will do the rest.

We did some prison ministry. Here, we split our team males and females. This was my favourite ministry opportunity in this location. We relied on God and we saw him move. We shared with these ladies with personal testimony of encountering the love of God. I was able to share that I felt that God had enabled me to feel his heart for them as I entered the space where we met. I felt overwhelmed by emotion – love – for a group of women I had never met before. That’s God. He shared His heart with me, and I shared it with them. We went into a time of worship and we prayed for these women who were seeking God in their differing circumstances of being imprisoned. Our time came to an end abruptly – still we are unsure why but what i do know is that we impacted those women.

And I’ll let you in on a little secret – we didn’t plan any of it! We were simply lead by the Holy Spirit and it flowed.

Leave a Reply

