Better is One…

In Psalms 84:10 we read that: 

“For a day in your courts is better than a thousand elsewhere. I would rather be a doorkeeper in the house of my God than dwell in the tents of wickedness.”

I was reminded of this not in a moment of pure and holy worship, but in a moment of despair. 

I had had another moment of being overwhelmed and unable to fully process all that I was experiencing. More stages of the old bike being restored to one of beauty, a journey that I know will continue for a long time. 

Anyway, it was in this place of tears and complete raw honesty before God explaining that I couldn’t walk this journey if he didn’t do it with me and not knowing where he was exactly in all my pain and confusion that I realised that, just as one day in God’s presence is far more valuable than 1000 days in any other place. One raw heart felt prayer that completely and truthfully expressed exactly where I am at and how I feel is far more valuable to God than a prayer prayed from a disingenuous heart. 

God doesn’t need to have polite conversation with us. He is not my acquaintance. He is my friend and my most intimate Lover – he doesn’t ask me how I am just to be polite. He wants to really know what’s going on. 

And I hope you have that revelation too.

This place is a place of deep intimacy… 

Let Him comfort you. 

Leave a Reply

